

THE INSTITUTION OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERS

Minutes of the Ninety First Annual General Meeting

The NINETY FIRST Annual General Meeting of The Institution of Chemical Engineers was held at the Franklin Lecture Theatre, 76 Portland Place, London on Monday 20 May 2013.

PRESENT:

Mr Russell Scott (President) in the Chair, Ms J E Hackitt (Deputy President), Mr K E Batchelor (Honorary Treasurer); and 41 other Voting members of the Institution

APOLOGIES for absence were received from 31 members.

NOTICE:

The President welcomed everyone to the Ninety First Annual General Meeting, declared a quorum present and the meeting open. The Chief Executive read the notice convening the meeting and the reply received to the Message of Loyalty sent to Her Majesty on behalf of all members .

DEATHS:

Members stood in silence for one minute as a mark of respect for those members whose deaths had been recorded during the period 30 April 2012 - 1 May 2013.

MINUTES:

The minutes of the Ninetieth Annual General Meeting held on 22 May 2012 and published in the April 2013 issue of tce were accepted and signed by the President as a true and correct record.

Dr D J Brown (Chief Executive) presented the Annual Report of Council for the year ended 31 December 2012, as published in the Annual Review.

In opening, he remarked that despite the current economic situation IChemE was in a positive and encouraging position and highlighted a number of achievements during 2012. These had included the creation of a new process safety professional qualification which had already attracted overwhelming interest worldwide; agreement with colleagues in South Africa to integrate their community fully into the worldwide IChemE family; the formation of a closer relationship with colleagues in Engineers Australia, and in Malaysia the second of our successful Hazards conferences, this time including a top level engagement with the safety regulators of China.

As far as progress internally was concerned, Dr Brown reported on the agreement to create a UK Board for IChemE and also the launch of the "Chemical Engineering Matters" report which set out key challenges for the profession in the years to come. This report succeeded the technical strategy roadmap which had been produced five years previously and IChemE's member groups, be they national, regional or special interest groups, would be absolutely central in implementing the report's actions. He also acknowledged the hard work of the membership team in achieving a dramatic reduction in the time taken to respond to membership enquiries and in driving down the time taken to process Chartered membership applications.

Dr Brown acknowledged the energy and commitment of IChemE's Trustees, with particular reference to those members of Council who were retiring at this meeting – Mr Noel Williams, Professor Martyn Poliakoff and Past President Sir William Wakeham. He also expressed thanks on behalf of the membership to the President, Mr Russell Scott, for his vision and ambition over the past year.

Finally, Dr Brown paid tribute to Mr Keith Batchelor as he stepped down from his role as Honorary Treasurer, a position he had held for the past six years. These had been a challenging six years but Mr Batchelor had navigated through these times with balance, judgement and a lot of sound advice.

Mr Russell Scott thanked Dr Brown for his presentation and invited Mr Batchelor to present the Annual Accounts.

Mr Batchelor read out the opinion of the Auditors and also gave a brief overview of the accounts.

He reported that overall IChemE had had a successful year, achieving a total income of £7.3 million, which included an additional £514,000 for restricted funds (£258,000 relating to the Andrew legacy fund and £249,000 for the technical centres EPSC and IPSG). With expenditure for the year being £6.82 million, this brought IChemE in ahead of budget with net incoming resources of £512,000.

The Institution's wholly owned trading subsidiary, IChemE Ltd, had achieved an operating profit of £483,000 which had been gift aided to the Institution. After taking into account the gain on the investment fund and actuarial loss on the pension scheme, the total of unrestricted and restricted funds carried forward at the end of 2012 was just under £6 million.

There being no further questions from the meeting Mr Russell Scott proposed the adoption of the accounts. This was seconded and carried unanimously.

ELECTION OF HONORARY OFFICERS AND COUNCIL:

PRESIDENT: Ms J E Hackitt, DEPUTY PRESIDENT: Professor G C Maitland, HONORARY TREASURER: Dr A Jamieson, PAST PRESIDENT: Mr R M Scott. ORDINARY MEMBER OF COUNCIL: Mr S F Harrow

APPOINTMENT OF AUDITORS:

Mr Russell Scott declared the re-appointment of BDO LLP as the Institution's auditors. Mr Batchelor proposed that the remuneration of the Auditors for the year beginning immediately after the AGM should not exceed £23,000 (including work carried out in Australia). The motion was seconded by Professor David Bogle and, following a show of hands, carried unanimously.

In summarising, Mr Russell Scott said that he had greatly enjoyed the opportunity to serve as IChemE President and took immense pleasure in handing over the Chain of Office to the incoming President, Ms Judith Hackitt.

VOTE OF THANKS:

The President, Ms Judith Hackitt, called on Professor I D L Bogle to propose the vote of thanks to the retiring President and members of Council.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

The President outlined the background to the creation of a UK Board, pointing out that by allowing the UK Board to concentrate on UK-specific issues, Council could then allocate more time to deal with matters affecting the profession globally.

The Chief Executive announced that the UK Board would consist of Ms J E Hackitt (as Chair for 2013/2014), Professor G C Maitland, Professor J B Chaudhuri, Mr W J Harper, Mr P J Hunt, Dr J-P Sherlock plus the two successful candidates from the recent election – Ms J V Atkinson and Mr I R Calcott. Two further positions would be filled by co-option.

The Chief Executive then went on to announce that the Presidential Nominations Commission for the forthcoming year would consist of the Immediate Past President Mr R M Scott (as Chair), Sir William Wakeham, Dr J-P Sherlock, Mr W J Harper, Mr P J Hunt, Dr S Ion and Mr N C Williams.

CLOSURE:

There being no further competent business the President, Ms Hackitt, declared the meeting closed at 17:30.

